Ice Cream Parlor
Built: c. 1850. Original Building Name: Ewing-Douglass House. Original Location: Town Bank Road, Lower Township
The Ice Cream Parlor serves as a cool respite during a Village visit. Choose from a variety of ice cream flavors, sodas and other treats.
With its Greek Revival style gable front and its Victorian style point-arched window in the gable end, this charming house is a vernacular interpretation of the two styles which were popular in the mid-19th century. It was most likely built by David Ewing, a farmer who owned the land on which it originally stood from 1838 until 1869. Nathaniel Douglass, a farmer who bought the tract in 1869, ran a country store in a side addition that has since been removed. The pointed -arch window in the gable end is a feature commonly found in southern New Jersey’s Victorian houses, but is rarely seen elsewhere in the state.